Red Hat Releases Software Collections 1.1

Red Hat Releases Software Collections 1.1

Red Hat updates its flagship Red Hat Enterprise Linux on a fairly slow schedule, but every nine months, it puts out a new version of Software Collections, a set of updated open source languages, databases and Web development tools.

The company has just released Software Collections 1.1. It includes Ruby 1.9.3 with Rails 3.2.8; Python 2.7 and 3.3, PHP 5.4 and 5.5, Perl 5.16.3, Node.js 0.10, MySQL 5.5, PostgreSQL 9.2, MariaDB 5.5, MongoDB 2.4, Apache HTTP Server 2.4, Nginx 1.4.4 and Thermostat 1.0.

“These are the applications and sort of Web-ish languages that need a major upgrade every three to five years,” Langdon White, Red Hat’s developer advocate for RHEL, said. “But this isn’t just about giving developers the latest and greatest of what’s out there. It’s also about using our own intelligence and involvement in these open source communities to make sure that we give them something that is production ready. Think of it as the latest that’s stable.”

View article


About Our Editorial Process

At DevX, we’re dedicated to tech entrepreneurship. Our team closely follows industry shifts, new products, AI breakthroughs, technology trends, and funding announcements. Articles undergo thorough editing to ensure accuracy and clarity, reflecting DevX’s style and supporting entrepreneurs in the tech sphere.

See our full editorial policy.

About Our Journalist